Jimmy
on March 6, 2026
1 view
Izvorul Poşaga Hermitage, prayer stop, in a particularly picturesque place in Alba countyIoana OpreanPublished 2 years ago in 2 July 2024De Ioana Oprean
Izvorul Poşaga Hermitage, prayer stop, in a particularly picturesque place in Alba County
Built in a particularly picturesque place, the Izvorul Poşaga hermitage is located in Poşaga commune, Alba county, 43 km SW of Turda and 50 km E of Câmpeni. Nearby, flows the stream „Valea Poşagai” as well as the spring thanks to which the hermitage is known, called „Izvorul Tămăduirii”. The entrance to the monastery premises is through a massive oak gate, with a beautiful sculpture, executed in 1981 by the craftsman Vasile Sălăjan from Baia Sprie, Maramureş county.
The church dedicated to „Dormition of the Mother of God” was built in 1933 by the parish priest of the village, Alexandru Rujdea. The monastic life began in 1948 and lasted until 1960, when, as a result of Decree no. 410/1959, the hermitage was abolished.
In 1979, Father Paisie Cosma restored the church, built the abbey building and the bell tower, as well as the enclosure fence together with the massive entrance gate. But the monastic life really begins in 1990, when the hermitage acquired its legal right to operate.
The church is made of wood, on a stone foundation having a rectangular shape. The nave with the pronaos are not separated, the surfaces forming a common space. The open porch is supported on wooden pillars, very beautifully carved. The wooden iconostasis also has a very beautiful sculpture. The entrance doors are massive, made of oak wood with an ornamental sculpture. The church has two towers, one large on the nave and another smaller on the porch. It is plastered inside and lined with slat outside. The church was frescoed by the painter Carol Gross.
The bell tower, built of wood and covered with shingles, is supported by strong wooden pillars and beautifully carved. Inside the hermitage is a summer altar built of wood, covered with tiles and supported by six carved wooden pillars.
The building for the cells, the refectory, the kitchen, the abbess are made of wood, the walls being plastered inside and lined with slats outside. The front surround, parallel to the road, is made of a massive stone wall at the base, and above this plinth is the wooden plinth
Dimension: 1024 x 660
File Size: 143.94 Kb
Be the first person to like this.